Hong Kong super sixes a unique shorter format of Cricket a five over match where each inning is five over and six-players a side. However for this unique sort of game each team relying on All-Rounders reason is a single player is allowed to bowl a single over in a single game except the man in Gloves (wicket-keeper) who is not allow to bowl.

Teams: 8 teams are participate in this tournament.

Current Champion: South Africa

Most Titles: Pakistan, England and South Africa each team holds 5 titles. Since then shorter format spread all over the world due to its popularity among cricket fans. Since inauguration of Hong Super Sixes players like Wasim Akram, Brian Lara, Stephen Fleming and Shane Warne show their performance which helps event gets success.

Other famous cricket leagues are listed below where players from around the world took part.

Indian Premier League, Pakistan Super League, Caribbean Premier League, Bangladesh Premier League, Mzansi Premier League.

In 2017 inspired by shorter format, T10 Management launch T10 League which is approved by Emirates Cricket Board which was new experience and new idea of shorter format. Match duration is 90 minutes and tournament is a round robin followed by semi finals and final.


Cricket fans always like entertainment they like to watch high flying shorts again and again. Idea was took place in shape of Hong Kong Super Sixes. Then new format was introduced by Hong Kong cricket with grant of ICC in 1992 and host by HK cricket for 6 consecutive years from 92,93,94,95, 96 to 97 successively. Idea of shorter format catch eyes of fans and become well known around cricket world because of participation of world’s famous cricketers.

After a gap of three years in 2001 once again Entertainment began and held yearly till 2012.

Inaugural Edition 1992

Opening HK Cricket Sixes edition was held at the Kowloon Cricket Club and Pakistan won the tournament after beating their arch-rival India by Four wickets in the finals. Wasim Akram was named as Man of the tournament for his all-round performances.

Second Edition 1993

Second edition of HK Cricket Sixes, England defeated Sri Lanka and claimed trophy to its name for the first time. With the help of Dermot Reeve fast blistering 31 not out innings, England chased down the target on the last ball with 3 wickets in hand. Therefore, Dermot Reeve was named as Man of the Match, whereas, Phillip Defreitas was named as man of the Tournament.

Third Edition 1994

Third edition was won by England as its second successive International cricket sixes by beating Australia in the finals. Robin Smith was the Man of the Tournament for HK Cricket Sixes 1994 which was staged at the Kowloon Cricket Club.

Fourth Edition 1995

In Fourth Edition of 1995 HK Cricket Sixes tournament, South Africa defeated  two times champions and defending champion England in the Final. Crookes was named as Man of the tournament.

Fifth Edition 1996

West Indies won the HK Cricket tournament by beating India in the finals with 8 runs. Ridley Jacobs was the Man of the Match due to his blistering performance against India in Hong Kong Super Sixes’96 final. Derek Crookes from South Africa was named as Man of the Tournament.

Sixth Edition 1997

1997 Edition Claimed by Pakistan where they beat depending champion England in finals who previously won two consecutive titles, Zahoor Elahi was named player of tournament.

Seventh Edition 2001

Once again Pakistan emerge victorious for second consecutive time as they beat South Africa this time in final, Wasim Akram claimed man of the series award for his All-Round performance.

Eight Edition 2002

Pakistan become only team to won three consecutive time Hong Kong Super Sixes Title, England makes it into the finals but they could not finishes it in high. Dean Hills was awarded man of the tournament of 2002 edition.

Ninth Edition 2003

Pakistan qualified for the finals fourth consecutive time where they meet two time champions England but couldn’t make it in 4 out of 4 as this time England comes hard and beat Pakistan to claim title for third time. Saman Jayantha of Sri Lanka was called man of the tournament for his brilliant performance.

Tenth Edition 2004

England this time again defend title successfully where they beat Sri Lanka  to hold title for 4th time. Hussain Butt was first Hong Kong player who gets Man Of The Tournament Award.

Eleventh Edition 2005

India first time won Hong Kong Super Sixes after beating West Indies in the final. Reetender Sodhi the man who helps India for maiden title and was awarded man of the series for brilliant performances.

Twelfth Edition 2006

Hong Kong Super Sixes 2006 was won by South Africa by defeating Pakistan Cricket Team in the final match. Although the performance of team Pakistan was outstanding, they lost the tournament. Imran Nazir from Pakistan team was awarded “man of the tournament” award. South Africans won the Hong Kong Cricket Sixes second time in 2006 after winning in 1995 against England.

Thirteenth Edition 2007

2007 tournament won by Sri Lanka. The final match was played between All Stars and Sri Lanka. The man of the match was Craig McMillan from the New Zealand for his outstanding performance in the overall tournament. He was the leading scorer of the tournament.

Fourteenth Edition 2008

For fifth time England won the tournament as they beat Australia in the final. Dimitri Mascarenhas of England grabs player of the tournament award of 2008 season.

Fifteenth Edition 2009

In history of Hong Kong Super Sixes the hosts (Hong Kong) was first time qualify for the final but unfortunately they lose to South Africa. Irfan Ahmed of Hong Kong was the man of tournament.

Sixteenth Edition 2010

Glenn Maxwell’s All-Round performance helps Australia to beat Pakistan. Maxwell was named man of the tournament for his fantastic performance.

Seventeenth Edition 2011

After last edition of 2010 where they lose to Australia in the final, Pakistan again make it to the final where this time they beat England to hold the title fifth time. Umar Akmal was the man of the tournament.

Eighteenth Edition 2012

South Africa was the winner of 2012 edition where they beat Pakistan, Umar Akmal once again called man of tournament for second consecutive time.

Nineteenth Edition  2017

In 2017 final of Hong Kong Super Sixes South Africa and Pakistan match each other where South Africa emerge victorious. Nazakat Khan was awarded man of the tournament.
Last edition were played in 2017 where South Africa beat Pakistan, next edition is expected to took place in October 2019.

Latest news about Hong Kong Cricket